eBIC LogoeBIC - The SBIC Electronic Biological Inorganic Chemistry Meeting

As ICBIC20 has been postponed to 2023, SBIC will host an electronic Biological Inorganic Chemistry meeting (eBIC) to ensure that our community can remain connected and active through this period. We will have a continuous presentation of seminars, posters and the general assembly over a 48-hour period in order to serve our international community equitably and fully.

eBIC will be free of a registration fee to all SBIC members and you must be an SBIC member in order to participate. If you would like to participate in eBIC, follow this link (SBIC members-only). If you are not a member and want to join, register here. If you have any questions, please email us at [email protected].

DATES: July 20, 2021 (8:00 GMT) to July 22, 2021 (8:00 GMT) - use the following webpage to find the start/end times for your time zone:

https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meetingtime.html?iso=20210720&p1=1440&p2=136

DEADLINE for VIDEO FLASH PRESENTATION submissions: June 15, 2021, 12.00 GMT

 

Plenary Speakers:

Kara Bren (University of Rochester) - Mini-Enzymes for Fuel Production and Small-Molecule Activation

Paul Donnelly (University of Melbourne) - Theragnostics with Metal Complexes

David Giedroc (Indiana University) - Metals, molecules and metabolism: Molecular mechanisms of bacterial metallostasis

Erwin Reisner (University of Cambridge) - The Role of Bioinorganic Chemistry in Artificial Photosynthesis

Isabelle Schalk (University of Strasbourg) - How P. aeruginosa accesses iron according to its environment: molecular mechanisms and phenotypic adaptation

Vivian Yam (University of Hong Kong) - From Discrete Metal Complexes to Ensembles and Assemblies for Sensing, Molecular Imaging and Bioassays

 plenaries

 

Award Lectures:

2021 SBIC Early Career Award lecture: Tim Storr, Simon Fraser University – Designing Multifunctional Molecules to Control Protein Misfolding

2020 SBIC Early Career Award lecture: Liviu Mirica, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign – Novel Theranostic Agents for Alzheimer’s Disease

Confirmed Invited Speakers:

Matthew J. Allen, Jennifer Bridwell-Rabb, Ivan Castillo, Rachel Codd, Maria Contel, Ankona Datta, Carole Duboc, Anne Duhme-Klair, Eva Freisinger, Dinorah Gambino, Thorfinnur Gunnlaugsson, Zijian Guo, Takashi Hayashi, Marie Heffern, Martin Kirk, Takahiko Kojima, Yunhoo Lee, Ricardo Louro, Sherri A. McFarland, Sarah Michel, Arindam Mukherjee, Elizabeth New, Leela Ruckthong, Jalila Simaan, Alexander Spokoyny, Ulrich Schatzschneider, Daniel Suess, Arthur Tinoco, Daniela Valensin, Pernilla Wittung Stafshede - for details see the program here.

 

Blocks 1 & 4
8am (9 am Paris, 3 am New York, 3 pm Beijing)
4pm (5 pm Paris, 11 am New York, 11 pm Beijing)
Blocks 2 & 5
4 pm (5 pm Paris, 11 am New York, 11 pm Beijing)
12 am (1 am Paris, 7 pm New York, 7 am Beijing)
Blocks 3 & 6
12 am (1 am Paris, 7 pm New York, 7 am Beijing)
8 am (9 am Paris, 3 am New York, 3 pm Beijing)

 

eBIC International Organizing Committee